Home > Uncategorized > USA!

USA!

What more can be said? I won’t add anything here, mostly because anything else you’ve read on the US vs. Algeria game has already said it.

But man oh man was Howard’s distribution on that goal excellent! He was rock solid at the back, an obvious leader on the team, and irreplaceable at the moment. Brad Guzan and Marcus Hahnemann are both good goalkeepers, but we don’t score that goal without Howard in there.

ESPN did a great job during the game, really capturing the intensity both on the field and off of it. Their shots of American fans as the game was in its dying minutes was great, and the celebrations when Landon scored were great. Arguably the greatest moment in US soccer history and I couldn’t have asked better from ESPN. After 2006, even as late as last year in the Confederations Cup, I was very displeased with ESPN’s handling of our national team. This year, they’ve really stepped it up and that made the game yesterday even better. Their production of the game, the way it added to the drama on the field, was probably responsible for at least two of my dozens of heart attacks.

Speaking of heart attacks, does anyone else feel that they could go out and run a marathon today? My heart received a work-out like it hasn’t had since two-a-days in college. I’m fairly convinced I could run out and ace a Cooper Test, although my lungs and legs are begging me not to in the Southern California heat.

And here’s a picture, just to remember the moment:

I’ll admit, I cried.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment